The Commissioner is committed to, where appropriate, working in collaboration with other Commissioners, police forces and partner organisations either nationally, regionally or within the county for the benefit of Merseyside.

North West Joint Oversight Committee

The Commissioner is a member of the North West Joint Committee which includes all the commissioners from the North West. These are - Cumbria, Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Merseyside, Lancashire and North Wales. The terms of reference for this committee can be viewed here.

Regional Collaborations

The North West Regional Organised Crime Unit serves the areas of Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Merseyside, Lancashire, Cumbria and North Wales. It was established in 2009 as a collaboration between the six police forces to increase operational capacity and capability to tackle the organised crime threat in the North West. The mission of the unit is simple - to tackle organised crime groups causing the greatest levels of harm to communities in the North West.

The unit is comprised of five teams working closely together and includes representatives from Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs, UK Border Agency and the National Crime Agency. Those teams are: the Regional Intelligence Unit (RIU), the Regional Crime Unit (RCU), the Regional Asset Recovery Team (RART), Regional Cyber Crime Unit (RCCU) and the Protected Persons Service Unit (PPS).

Find out more about the work of the North West Regional Organised Crime Unit.

The North West Motorway Police Group works together to police the roads of the North West. Merseyside, Cheshire, Lancashire, and Greater Manchester Police work together to form the group. The regional control centre is based in Newton-le-Willows and is responsible for deploying and maintaining contact with all police and Highways Agency patrol motorways totalling 810 miles.  The group was set up in June 2008 in partnership with the Highways agency. The collaboration was instigated to ensure a co-ordinated approach to tackle the key priorities identified.

Find out more about the North West Motorway Police Group here.

The National Police Air Service (NPAS) was launched in January 2013 following a review of National Air Operations throughout England and Wales. Merseyside is incorporated in the North West region. West Yorkshire police are the lead force.

Find out more about NPAS.

The North West Regional Underwater Search & Marine Unit serves the areas of Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Merseyside, Lancashire, Cumbria and North Wales and is staffed by police officers from the six constituent forces. The unit can be called out to search anywhere between the North Wales and Scottish border. The divers can dive up to 50 metres deep and can search for missing persons and property, weapons and stolen goods. The unit can help to search areas that other team's can't reach like lakes, rivers, marshlands, ponds and even sewer drains.